See You at IFLA: LIBRARIANS AT THE WORLD INFORMATION CONGRESS 2009

WEll, I won’t physically be there…but:

http://www.america.gov/multimedia/askamerica.html#librarians

The International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) will hold its annual World Library and Information Congress, the 75th IFLA General Conference and Assembly, from August 23 to August 29 in Milan, Italy. Leaders in the field of library and information sciences from across the globe will gather at the conference, including representatives from U.S. Embassy libraries.

Join U.S. Embassy Rome and CO.NX as we host a series of video webchats in conjunction with the IFLA conference. From August 23 to August 25, leading American librarians will discuss issues of importance to the library and information sciences community and take questions related to the field via live video webchats.

The schedule of upcoming chats and topics is as follows:

• Michael Stephens, assistant professor in the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Dominican University in Illinois, discussing “Library 2.0 and Social Networking Technologies” on August 23, 15:30 GMT (11:30 a.m. EDT)

• Josie Parker, director of the Ann Arbor District Library in Michigan, discussing “Innovating Public Library Programs” on August 24, 11:00 GMT (7 a.m. EDT)

• Meaghan O’Connor, program coordinator at IREX (the International Research and Exchanges Board, a nonprofit organization), discussing “Sister Libraries” on August 24, 15:00 GMT (11 a.m. EDT)

• Erich Kesse, past director of the Digital Library Center at the University of Florida, discussing “International and Collaborative Digital Library Projects” on August 25, 11:00 GMT (7 a.m. EDT)

• María Gentle, Youth services librarian for the Arlington Public Libary in Virginia, discussing “Youth Services/Teen Services and Outreach” on August 25, 13:00 GMT (9 a.m. EDT)

• Karen Coombs, head of Web services at the University of Houston in Texas, discussing “Making the Most of Your Library’s Internet Presence” on August 25, 15:00 GMT (11 a.m. EDT)

The general public is invited to participate in these webchats. To do so, please go to
http://statedept.connectsolutions.com/ifla. No registration is needed. Simply choose “Enter as a Guest,” type in your preferred screen name, and join the discussion. We accept questions and comments in advance of, and at any time during, the program.

Related posts: